Fritz and Kyrgios Feeling Left out as ATP Releases 2022 Awards Nominees

The pair took to social media to air grievances.By Chris Oddo | @TheFanChild | Friday, December 2, 2022

Now that the ATP has announced its awards nominees for the 2022 season, a few top players are feeling a bit left out.

Tennis Express

Taylor Fritz and Nick Kyrgios each chimed in on social media with comments about feeling overlooked in response to the nominees.

Fritz, in response to not being named a nominee as the most improved player said: “Feel like I could’ve been nominated for most improved…. not saying I should win it or anything crazy like that but maybe just a nominee.”

Kyrgios showed off his world class snark by claiming that he should be given consideration as coach of the year for self coaching his way to a Wimbledon final. The emoji at the end of the tweet could mean he's only half-serious but it must be said that he did an admirable job of self-coaching in 2022.

ATP Awards winners, including Fans' Favourite, will be revealed during Awards week, starting December 12th.

View the complete list of 2022 ATP Awards nominees below:


Comeback Player of the Year: The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP Tour.

Borna Coric
Dominic Thiem
Stan Wawrinka
Wu Yibing

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who reached a significantly higher Pepperstone ATP Ranking by year’s end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.

Carlos Alcaraz
Maxime Cressy
Jack Draper
Holger Rune

Newcomer of the Year: The #NextGenATP player who broke into the Top 100 for the first time in 2022 and made the biggest impact on the ATP Tour this season.

Jack Draper
Jiri Lehecka
Ben Shelton
Chun-Hsin Tseng
Holger Rune

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Carlos Alcaraz
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Rafael Nadal
Casper Ruud
Frances Tiafoe


Coach of the Year: Nominated and voted on by fellow ATP coach members, this award goes to the ATP coach who helped guide his players to a higher level of performance during the year.

Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz)
Frederic Fontang (Felix Auger-Aliassime)
Goran Ivanisevic (Novak Djokovic)
Michael Russell (Taylor Fritz)
Christian Ruud (Casper Ruud)

Title: Fritz and Kyrgios Feeling Left out as ATP Releases 2022 Awards Nominees
Sourced From:
Published Date: Fri, 02 Dec 2022 21:46:12 GMT

Did you miss our previous article…